Posted by: Sabrina | August 25, 2008

What A Wonderful Surprise!

The Green Witch, someone I have met through cyberspace only recently, but whom I have quickly come to consider a wonderful mentor and friend, has nominated yours truly for the blog award pictured below:

I am still pretty wet behind the ears in terms of both paganism and blogging, so this was a completely unexpected but very pleasant surprise and lovely gesture.  Thank you so very much, my dear Green Witch!

What makes this award doubly wonderful is that I get to pass it on to other bloggers who have informed, inspired, and entertained me, and so just underneath the rules of this award which follow, you’ll find my list of award-winning bloggers.  There is no way I can do complete justice to any of my nominees’ blogs in the descriptions below, so do please have a good look at their blogs if you haven’t until now—all of them are superb!

First the rules . . .

1. The winner can put the logo on their blog
2. Link the person you received the award from
3. Nominate at least 7 other blogs
4. Put links of those blogs on yours
5. Leave a message on the blogs nominated

And now, on to the awards!

 

Grian/Lee at Panthea:  All Things are Goddess writes thoughtful and thought-provoking posts about her spiritual journey and takes great care to insure that her blog is visually pleasing and readable, no matter what program her readers use to access the internet.  Because I am exploring the feminine aspects of divinity, the goddessian focus of her blog resonates strongly with me.  She responds in detail to all commenters, even those who challenge the content of her posts.  She defends her opinions robustly without ever becoming offensive.  For me, her blog is always a must-read.

 

At Full circle:  Earthwise News and Notes, blogger Sia presents her views and news in a visually rich and pleasing format.   Beyond that, her posts are always especially helpful to me, as a neophyte pagan, because she footnotes just enough to clarify information that might confuse noobs like me, but not so much as to bog down readers who have walked this path a lot longer than I have done.  She has been gracious enough to visit my blog and make some wonderful reading recommendations, too.

 

At the End of Desire is a delightful blog by Inanna, who shares both her spiritual philosophy and little slices of her everyday life in ways that are by turns thoughtful and smile-provoking.  Her life seems extremely hectic right now, with a move to a new home underway and a baby on the way.  I admire her immensely for her ability to keep us informed as she juggles all the wonderful things going on in her life.

 

Ocean’s Deaf Pagan Crossroads blog should, in my humble opinion, be on every serious pagan blog reader’s feed list.  Although I am not deaf, I read Ocean’s blog regularly because it’s not just for deaf pagans—the topics of her posts sometimes focus on the challenges she experiences navigating as a deaf person in a world that commonly operates as though everyone can hear, but just as often she writes about . . .well . . . just “pagan stuff.”  And no matter what the topic is, Ocean’s posts are informative, insightful, and well-written.

 

When I visit Hawk’s Cry, a blog written by Rev. Morninghawk Apollo, I get a male’s perspective on witchcraft, a perspective that is not commonly represented, given that the ratio of females to males in the pagan world is about 3 to 1.  In addition to Rev. Apollo’s posts on his daily life, he often writes about theology and spiritual growth—always helpful to me as I find my way in the pagan world.   Like so many other pagans, Rev. Apollo is socially and environmentally aware, and he gets his points on these topics across to his readers without ever becoming strident in tone.  His blog reflects that he is, as we used to say back in the day, a truly liberated male.

 

Waverly Fitzgerald has a gorgeous blog called Living in Season.  She writes about the cycles in nature, with a special focus on plant life and she frequently accompanies her written work with lovely visuals of just about any fruit, vegetable, herb, or flowering plant imaginable.  Her background as a former Catholic, and her location here in the Pacific Northwest make me feel a certain kinship with her and give me two more great reasons to love her blog.

 

Anne Johnson is a prodigious blogger with a biting wit and strong opinions on just about everything.  Sometimes her commentary on her blog, The Gods are Bored, stings as I read it—she’s often completely irreverent about socio-political issues that for others are sacrosanct, but I think deep down inside she is someone who cares deeply about humanity and her way of getting our attention and trying to make us do better for ourselves and each other is to write posts that whack us upside the head.  I may not always agree with her on everything, but I am never bored reading her blog!

 

A heartfelt “thank you” to all of these wonderful people for sharing your wit and wisdom with the world!  I hope you will all pass this award on to other bloggers who have inspired you as you have inspired me.

Responses

  1. Bless you, my dear – glad you like it! 🙂

    And the blogs you nominate are ones I don’t know as well as I should – thank you for the new reading opportunities!

    TGW x

  2. Congratulations and well done on gaining this award Sabrina. I’ve been following your unfolding journey with interest. It’s an exciting and informative read. I’ve added you to my blogroll if that’s okay with you 🙂
    http://fireherspirit.blogspot.com/

  3. Thanks for the award, I really appreciate it! And you’re right — I just prefer to use satire and sometimes downright orneriness to mask my deeply-felt opinions on justice and the love of it.

  4. I am both honored and humbled to be included amongst those you have deemed worthy of this award. Thank you for your kind comments, and I hope that you (and others) will continue to enjoy my posts at the Crossroads. I may not be writing as often as I would like these days, but your support and encouragement inspires me to continue to share my thoughts with those who might take pleasure from such.

    Blessings,
    Ocean
    Deaf Pagan Crossroads

  5. Welcome Firespirit–
    Thanks so much for dropping by and for adding me to your blogroll. I appreciate your interest and am looking forward to visiting your blog as well (as soon as I click “submit” 🙂 !

    Anne and Ocean, I was so glad to be able to add my name to both of your fan clubs. Busy I may be these days, but I always find time to read your posts!

    Blessings,
    Sabrina

  6. […] (of Pagan Dawn) and Diana Luciano Grayfox (of Diana’s Muse) have nominated Hawk’s Cry for the “I […]

  7. I’ve mentioned you, your blog, and this award in my latest post over at Deaf Pagan Crossroads… be sure to go take a look!

    ~ Ocean

  8. Ocean-
    Thank you for letting me know about this post. I sincerely enjoyed reading such thoughtful descriptions of the blogs you nominated. I’ll be sure to give them a look!
    Blessings,
    Sabrina


Leave a Reply

Categories

